Outstanding Service Awards

It is those that go above and beyond the call of duty that impact our lives the most. Those can be doctors, nurses, your best friend … your teacher. The agricultural education profession provides numerous opportunities for teacher educators to further their professional development and keep up with the times. The NAAE Outstanding Service Citation Award is given to those who serve their profession in professional activities, school activities, and community service.

Each recipient received a plaque and a cash award to attend the 2002 NAAE National Convention in Las Vegas, Nevada. This award is sponsored by Animal Industry Alliance.

Region I
Clarence Pearson
Elma Retired Agriculture Teacher
Oakville, Washington

Region IV
Thomas A. Kremer
Retired Agricultural Education Instructor
Anna, Ohio
Region II
Marion D. Fletcher
State Supervisor/Program Manager Ag Ed
Little Rock, Arkansas

Region V
Bobby W. Joslin
North Region Area Ag Ed Teacher
Cartersville, Georgia
Region III
Dr. Roland Lee Peterson
University of Minnesota Professor
St. Paul, Minnesota
Region VI
Earl K. Brown
Coudersport High School
Coudersport, Pennsylvania

Back to Main Awards Page

Region I
The Region I winner was Clarence Pearson from Oakville, Washington.

Clarence Pearson's life can be summed up in one simple, yet complex word: "service." Clarence has spent his thirty years as an agricultural educator helping others to grow personally and to strengthen the community. He continues, after retirement, to involve himself in professional organizations and community services.

Clarence is a lifetime member of Washington Association of Agricultural Educators and the NAAE, president of the Washington State FFA Foundation, member of the Elma School Board, and serves on the local fair boards. In 1982, he received the Youth Leader of the Year Award for the state of Washington. This award established a $10,000 grant in his name, which was donated to the Elma Ag Boosters. This grant provided agricultural opportunities and work experience for youth.

Back to top

Region II
The Region II winner was Marion D. Fletcher, the Arkansas State Supervisor and Program Manager for Agriculture Education, in Little Rock, Arkansas.

Marion Fletcher then and now. This statement reflects Marion's time and service to the Arkansas community. His work began as an Area Superintendent for the Southwest District of Arkansas in July 1969. For the past 13 years, he has been and continues to be the State Superintendent of Agriculture Education. He represents 237 school districts and works for funding, grants, and increased educational opportunities for the programs throughout Arkansas.

Besides holding these positions he is highly active in professional organizations. For more than thirty years, Arkansas FFA members have known him as a mentor, friend, and confidante. He has been the co-superintendent for the state fair's Junior Department and Seer Show since 1980. Along with his service, he has been awarded for his time, effort, and thoughtfulness. In 1995 he received the "Service to Citizenship Award" from the state of Arkansas and in 1999 was awarded Honorary Lifetime Membership from the Arkansas State University Beebe Ag Club.

Back to top

Region III
The Region III winner was Dr. Roland Peterson from the University of Minnesota in St. Paul, Minnesota.

Dr. Peterson's teaching career started in 1960 when he taught vocational agriculture for three and a half years at Hooper High School in Nebraska. Next he became the assistant state supervisor of vocational agriculture for two years. After completion of his doctoral degree, he spent three years as assistant professor at the University of Nebraska. In 1972, Dr. Peterson transferred to the Division of Agriculture Food and Environmental Education at the University of Minnesota to be a teacher educator, a role he fulfills to this day.

While at the University of Minnesota, Dr. Peterson has advised more than 1,620 students and has created four high school level agriculture courses that can be transferred as college credits to the U of M. Dr. Peterson has contributed to the expansion and education of agriculture, while doing what he loves - teaching.

Back to top

Region IV
The Region IV winner was Thomas A. Kremer, retired agriculture teacher, and former NAAE president, from Anna, Ohio.

Since 1969, Thomas A. Kremer has been devoted to the agricultural education profession. He taught for 31 years, spending 25 years of that time at Anna High School where he retired in 2000. His goal for this school was to build a much-needed agricultural education facility, which he accomplished in 1976, raising $52,000 to begin building this facility. During Tom's years at Anna High School, he more than doubled the student enrollment and established a Young Farmer program.

While serving on the NAAE board of directors and as NAAE president in 1998-99, Tom was very instrumental in efforts that helped shape this association. He aided in developing a new name and logo, advocated for legislation for USDA challenge grants for agricultural education programs, expanded member services, and developed unity though a mission and goals. With his perseverance and loyalty to the agricultural education profession, it is clear that Tom Kremer has made a positive and life-changing impact on many agriculture teachers and on the entire agricultural education profession.

Back to top

Region V
The Region V winner was Bobby W. Joslin, North Region Area Agricultural Education Teacher, from Cartersville, Georgia.

Supporting the agricultural education profession is what Bobby Joslin has devoted his career to since 1970. He began his life-long agricultural education journey in 1970 where he taught at Douglas County High School. Later Bobby began instructing in an adult agricultural education program in which he has taught more than 675 courses with over 12,000 students. He has also created and taught over 60 staff development courses for agriculture teachers. During his spare time, Bobby has conducted and judged more than 400 FFA events at the area, region, state, and national levels.

He has been awarded and acknowledged by many organizations at both the state and national levels. He has been a NAAE Outstanding Teacher and is a NAAE life member. Both the Atlanta Farmers and University of Georgia Agricultural Alumni Association have awarded Bobby the Agriculture Teacher of the Year Award. Bobby has also served as Region V Vice President on the NAAE board of directors.

Back to top

Region VI
The Region VI winner was Earl K. Brown from Coudersport High School in Coudersport, Pennsylvania.

Earl Brown is 100 percent dedicated to agricultural education. He has spent his time teaching and advising at the high school level for 31 years along with devoting many years to community service and professional development. Earl has chaired the State of Illinois Publicity Committee for 27 years, was the education chairman of the Potter County Conservation District for 33 years, and has been an officer and/or chairman for both the Potter County FFA Jr. Livestock and Jr. Dairy committees. These activities have kept him up-to-date with the ever-changing community.

Through the years, Earl has received many achievement awards. Some include the Honorary State and American FFA Degrees, Potter County Man of the Year award, and the Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture Achievement and Contribution to Agriculture award.

Back to top



Twitter Facebook YouTube Flicker Pinterest

Terms of Use Contact Us Join Us NAAE Brand Center Site Map

2021 Copyright NAAE
One Paragon Centre, 2525 Harrodsburg Road, Suite 200, Lexington, KY 40504-3358
(859) 967-2892 or (800) 509-0204