Teachers Turn the Key Awards


Agricultural education is continually faced with a shortage of qualified teachers. Unless those who have been trained enter and remain in the profession for a period of several years, the shortage of qualified teachers will prevail. As a means of encouraging young teachers to remain in the profession and to encourage and recognize participation in professional activities, the NAAE “Teachers Turn the Key” scholarship program is being sponsored by Dodge Division and DaimlerChrysler Corporation Fund as a special project of the National FFA Foundation.

NAAE members who have completed at least two but not more than four years of teaching are eligible to apply for this award; members who are currently in their fifth year of teaching are eligible to apply.

Region I

Patrick Wellert
Chino Valley High School
Chino Valley Arizona

Justin Patten
Snake River High School
Blackfoot, Idaho

Kimberly Gallagher
Lambert High School
Lambert, Montana

Ben Meyer
Conrad High School
Conrad, Montana

Mackenzie Behrle
Willamina High School
Willamina, Oregon

Kasee Sweat
Spanish Fork High School
Spanish Fork, Utah

Tamara Whitcomb
Willapa High School
Menlo, Washington

Sara Groeneweg
Wapato High Scool
Wapato, Washington

Stacy Child
H.E.M. High School
Hanna, Wyoming

Region II

Saralynn Brown
Liberty School
Joes, Colorado

Gaea Wimmer
Centre High School
Lost Springs, Kansas

Sadie Phelps
Assumption High School
Napoleonville, Wyoming

Nick Brown
Jenks Public Schools
Jenks, Oklahoma

Sheyenne Krysher
Harold G. Guthrie Center for Excellence
Spring Branch, Texsas

Region III

Ryan Foor
Glenwood Community High School
Glenwood, Iowa

Jeff Eppen
Sibley High School
Arlington, Minnesota

Amanda Buyank
Drake/Anamoose Schools
Drake, North Dakota

Monty Larsen
Butte High School
Butte, Nebraska

Matthew Kreifels
Blari High School
Marion, Nebraska

Pandi Pittman
Wall School District
Wall, South Dakota

Michael Christopherson
Butte High School
Butte, South Dakota

Aaron Kilsdonk
Marion Jr/Sr High School
Marion, Wisconsin

Region IV

Jay Solomonson
Orion High School
Orion, Illinois

Ryan Wildman
Tuscola High School
Tuscola, Illinois

Kari Beckner
Union County High School
Liberty, Ohio

Jodi French
Paoli High School
Paoli, Indiana

Alissa Smith
West Jessamine High School
Nicholasville, Kentucky

Emily Marie Opper
Byron Jr/Sr High School
Byron, Michigan

Tammy Volger
Holden High School
Holden, Mississippi

Region V

Erin Emery Elixson
Baker County High School
Glen St. Mary, Florida

Philip McKie
Upson-Lee High School
Upson-Lee, Georgia

Daryl Behel
Alcorn Career & Technical Center
Corinth, Mississippi

Karen Cook
Monroe County Vocational Technical Center
Aberdeen, Mississippi

Sherilee Strickland
North West Cabarrus High School
Concord, North Carolina

Mindi Sandifer
Barnwell County Career Center
Blackville, South Carolina

Region VI

Kristina Mayberry
Freehold Township Agriscience Academy
Freehold, New Jersey

Julia Rotman-Smith
Cayuga-Onondaga BOCES
Auburn, New York

Michele Sutton
Southern Cayuga High School
Aurora, New York

David Steinfelt
Athens Area High School
Athens, Pennsylvania

Natalie Aurand
Newport High Scool
Newport, Pensylvania

James Beatty
Elkins High School
Elkins, West Virginia

Kevin Okes
Bland High School
Bland, Virginia

Christine White
Hanover High School
Hanover, Virginia

Back to Main Awards Page



Twitter Facebook YouTube Flicker Pinterest

Terms of Use Contact Us Join Us NAAE Brand Center Site Map

2021 Copyright NAAE
One Paragon Centre, 2525 Harrodsburg Road, Suite 200, Lexington, KY 40504-3358
(859) 967-2892 or (800) 509-0204