NAAE Board of Directors Meeting
December 9, 2003

The NAAE Board of Directors conducted a board meeting on Tuesday, December 9, 2003 at the Caribe Royale All-Suites Resort and Convention Center in Orlando, Florida. Members of the board and others who were present for the meeting included: Sarah Osborn Welty (MD), President; Roger Teeple (NC), President Elect; Allan Sulser (UT), Region I Vice President; Larry Long (OK), Region II Vice President; Jeff Maierhofer (IL), Region IV Vice President; Lee James (MS), Region V Vice President; Terry Hughes (NY), Region VI Vice President; Elaine Lewis (WA), Region I Alternate Vice President; Dr. Bill Hunter (KS), Region II Alternate Vice President; Tom Hofmann (NE), Region III Alternate Vice President; Harold Eckler (MO), Region IV Alternate Vice President; Andy Seibel (VA), Region VI Alternate Vice President; and Jay Jackman (KY), NAAE Executive Director. Also present for portions of the meeting were Morgan Fisher (KY), NAAE Executive Assistant; Sherrie Perry (KY), NAAE Graduate Student Assistant; Samantha Alvis (AZ), NAAE Intern; Emily Bergkamp (KS), NAAE Intern; and Erin Jury (KY), UK Ag Ed Graduate Student Assistant. Paul Larson (WI), Region III Vice President was unable to attend the meeting due to a family health emergency.

The minutes of the meeting are as follows:

1. Call to Order and Welcome—President Sarah Osborn Welty called the meeting to order at 8:10 a.m. on Tuesday, December 9, 2003 and welcomed everyone to the meeting.

2. Adjustments to and Approval of the Agenda—Lee James moved, Larry Long seconded, to approve the board meeting agenda with flexibility to change as necessary. The motion carried.

3. Approval of Minutes of July 24-26, 2003 Board Meeting—Jeff Maierhofer moved, Roger Teeple seconded, to approve the minutes from the July 24-26, 2003 Board Meeting. The motion carried.

4. Membership Report and Delegate Counts—The board reviewed the final membership report for the 2002-03 membership year and the delegate counts. Also, the board reviewed the current year’s membership report as of December 2003.

5. Directory of State Ag Ed Association Officers—It was agreed that the board members would collect corrections during their regional meetings and get these back to NAAE. The final directory will be posted on the NAAE website.

6. Financial Report—Jay Jackman presented a report on the current financial position of NAAE, including the 2002-03 audit report.

The issue of publishing individual staff member salaries was discussed. Roger Teeple moved, Jeff Maierhofer seconded, to not publish individual staff member salaries of NAAE employees. The vote was three in favor, three opposed. The president voted in favor and the motion carried. Roger Teeple moved to reconsider the motion; Lee James seconded the motion to reconsider; the motion carried. After discussion, the original motion to not publish individual staff salaries failed.

Lee James moved, Larry Long seconded, to move the three NAAE investment accounts (Reserve Account, Life Membership Account, and Legislative Account) from FISN to Fifth Third Securities and to authorize Dr. Wm. Jay Jackman to make any and all transactions for these accounts. The motion carried.

7. National FFA Board Position—Roger Teeple moved, Tom Hofmann seconded, to hold the selection of the three nominees for the Region III position on the National FFA Board of Directors until the post-convention board meeting on Saturday, December 13, 2003. The motion carried.

8. 2003 FFA Convention Review—The board members briefly discussed the NAAE activities at the 2003 FFA Convention. There were no major issues.

9. Review of the 2003 NAAE Convention—The board went through all of the details of the convention schedule, discussed workshop facilitators’ responsibilities, reviewed session set-up responsibilities, and rehearsed the awards presentations that will take place during the general sessions.

The board took a lunch break at 12:30 p.m. and returned to the board meeting at 2:00 p.m.

10. Paid Holiday Leave Policy Adjustment—Roger Teeple moved, Larry Long seconded to change the NAAE paid holiday leave policy, effective immediately to eliminate paid holidays for Presidents Day, Memorial Day, and Columbus Day and to add as paid holidays the four working days between Christmas and New Years. This policy change will give NAAE staff 13 paid holidays and bring the NAAE paid holiday policy in line with the policy of the University of Kentucky. The motion carried.

11. Nominating Committee Report—Sarah Osborn Welty opened the floor for nominations for 2003-04 NAAE President. Lee James nominated Roger Teeple for 2003-04 NAAE President. Jeff Maierhofer nominated Larry Long for 2003-04 NAAE President Elect. Larry Long nominated Jeff Maierhofer for 2003-04 NAAE President Elect. Allan Sulser moved, Terry Hughes seconded, to close board nominations. The motion carried.

12. 2004 NAAE Convention Discussion—The board discussed planning for the 2004 NAAE Convention. It was agreed that Jay Jackman would write a document highlighting options for the convention. Options include: 1) same as now (overlapping the ACTE convention); 2) a time and place other than the ACTE convention; and 3) merge the two conventions together with one registration fee to include the ACTE opening session and trade show.

13. Adjournment—With no further business to transact at this time, President Sarah Osborn Welty adjourned the board meeting at 4:15 p.m.