NAAE Special Board of Directors Meeting
December 12, 2003

The NAAE Board of Directors conducted a special board meeting on Friday, December 12, 2003 at the Caribe Royale All-Suites Resort and Convention Center in Orlando, Florida. Members of the board and others who were present for the meeting included: Sarah Osborn Welty (MD), President; Allan Sulser (UT), Region I Vice President; Larry Long (OK), Region II Vice President; Jeff Maierhofer (IL), Region IV Vice President; Lee James (MS), Region V Vice President; Terry Hughes (NY), Region VI Vice President; Elaine Lewis (WA), Region I Alternate Vice President; Tom Hofmann (NE), Region III Alternate Vice President; Harold Eckler (MO), Region IV Alternate Vice President; Andy Seibel (VA), Region VI Alternate Vice President; and Jay Jackman (KY), NAAE Executive Director.

The minutes of the meeting are as follows:

1. Call to Order—President Sarah Osborn Welty called the special board meeting to order at 8:15 p.m. on Friday, December 12, 2003. The purpose of the meeting was to discuss the election for Region II vice president that occurred earlier this same day. There was a question as to the authenticity of the election given that a candidate that was elected did not have a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) signed by his school administration.

2. Executive Session of the Board—The board went into executive session at 9:30 p.m. and came out of executive session at 9:45 p.m.

3. Region II Vice President Election Results—Lee James moved, Jeff Maierhofer seconded, to declare the Region II Vice President election null and void because the winning candidate for the office did not turn in a Memorandum of Understanding prior to the election as per NAAE Policy 4.8.3. The motion carried.

4. Adjustment to the MOU—Allan Sulser moved, Larry Long seconded, to add to the MOU that: “National officer candidates are required to complete the Memorandum of Understanding and submit it to the NAAE office prior to running for office.” The motion carried. (This is the language from NAAE Policy 4.8.3.)

5. Adjournment—With no further business to transact at this time, President Sarah Osborn Welty adjourned the special board meeting at 10:05 p.m.