NAAE Board of Directors Meeting
December 13, 2003

The NAAE Board of Directors conducted a post-convention board meeting on December 13, 2003 at the Caribe Royale All-Suites Resort and Convention Center in Orlando, Florida.

Board members and others in attendance included: Roger Teeple (NC), President; Jeff Maierhofer (IL), President Elect; Allan Sulser (UT), Region I Vice President; Dr. Bill Hunter (KS), Region II Vice President; Harold Eckler (MO), Region IV Vice President; Lee James (MS), Region V Vice President; and Terry Hughes (NY), Region VI Vice President; Kevin Fochs (MT), Region I Alternate Vice President; David Dorrell (OK), Region II Alternate Vice President; Pamela Koenen (MN), Region III Alternate Vice President; Greg Curlin (OH), Region IV Alternate Vice President; and Andy Seibel (VA), Region VI Alternate Vice President. Jay Jackman (VA), NAAE Executive Director, was also present.

The minutes of the meeting are as follows:

1. Call to Order by New President—President Roger Teeple called the meeting to order at 3:15 p.m. and welcomed everyone to the meeting.

2. Seating of New Board Members—Roger Teeple greeted and seated two new regional vice presidents including Dr. Bill Hunter (KS), Region II, and Harold Eckler (MO), Region IV. Roger Teeple also seated Jeff Maierhofer as the newly elected NAAE president elect.

3. Comments from Outgoing Board Members—Sarah Osborn Welty, Jeff Maierhofer, and Larry Long gave some final comments and recommendations to the new board members.

4. Schedule of Events—Roger Teeple reviewed a calendar of events for the 2003-04 NAAE year. It was agreed that Terry Hughes would be the senior vice president that would join Jeff Maierhofer in representing NAAE on the National FFA Foundation Board of Trustees. It was agreed that the winter NAAE board meeting would be in Lexington, Kentucky during February 3rd through 5th with February 2nd as the travel in day. The board would then travel as a group to Indianapolis for the National Ag Ed Inservice during February 5th through 8th. The NAAE board will also meet in Indianapolis during the morning of February 8th. Board members will travel home on the afternoon of February 8th.

Roger Teeple assigned Jeff Maierhofer to attend the 2004 Region II and VI meetings, Jay Jackman to attend the Region IV meeting, and himself to attend the Region I, III, and V meetings.

Terry Hughes will attend the PAS meeting in Wisconsin in March.

5. Committee Assignments—Roger Teeple assigned Harold Eckler to be the consultant and board chair of the Finance Committee and Dr. Bill Hunter to be the consultant and board chair of the Professional Growth Committee.

6. ACTE Financial Situation—Jay Jackman explained the ACTE current financial situation to the board members. Terry Hughes moved, Dr. Bill Hunter seconded, that NAAE make a $1,500 contribution to ACTE. The motion carried.

Tom Hofmann moved, Dr. Bill Hunter seconded, that NAAE send a letter to state leaders encouraging them to support ACTE and pay the $30 individual member assessment. The motion carried.

7. National FFA Board Position—Jeff Maierhofer moved, Tom Hofmann seconded, to forward the names of Becki Lawver (NE), Mike Pagel (MN), and Linda Rist (SD) to Dr. Larry Case as the NAAE nominees for the Region III position of the National FFA Board of Directors. The motion carried.

8. Adjournment— With no further official business to be transacted, Roger Teeple adjourned the meeting at 4:15 p.m.