NAAE Board of Directors Meeting
December 14, 2002

The NAAE Board of Directors conducted a post-convention board meeting on December 14, 2002 at the Riviera Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada.

All members of the newly elected board of directors were present including: Sarah Osborn Welty (MD), President; Roger Teeple (NC), President Elect; Allan Sulser (UT), Region I Vice President; Larry Long (OK), Region II Vice President; Paul Larson (WI), Region III Vice President; Jeff Maierhofer (IL), Region IV Vice President; Lee James (MS), Region V Vice President; and Terry Hughes (NY), Region VI Vice President. All alternate vice presidents were present for the meeting including: Elaine Lewis (WA), Region I Alternate Vice President; Bill Hunter (KS), Region II Alternate Vice President; Tom Hofmann (NE), Region III Alternate Vice President; Harold Eckler (MO), Region IV Alternate Vice President; Dennis Deaton (AL), Region V Alternate Vice President; and Andy Seibel (VA), Region VI Alternate Vice President. Jay Jackman (VA), NAAE Executive Director, was also present.

The minutes of the meeting are as follows:

1. Call to Order by New President—President Sarah Osborn Welty called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m. and welcomed everyone to the meeting.

2. Seating of New Board Members—Sarah Osborn Welty greeted and seated two new regional vice presidents including Paul Larson (WI), Region III, and Lee James (MS), Region V. Sarah also seated Roger Teeple as the newly elected NAAE president elect.

3. February 2003 Board Meeting Planning—It was agreed that a NAAE board meeting would be in Lexington, Kentucky during February 4th through 6th, with February 3rd as the travel in day. The board would then travel as a group to Indianapolis for the National Ag Ed Inservice during February 6th through 8th. The NAAE board will also meet in Indianapolis during the morning of February 9th. Board members will travel home on the afternoon of February 9th.

4. Thank You Letters to Sponsors—Sarah Osborn Welty reminded the board members to send thank you letters to all sponsors and to ask their respective state presidents to send thank you letters to all sponsors as well.

5. Adjournment—With no further official business to be transacted, Sarah Osborn Welty adjourned the meeting at 3:20 p.m.